More on Facebook’s support for dead friends
If a user is reported as deceased, Facebook will remove sensitive information such as status updates and contacts.
When reporting a death, users must offer "proof" by submitting either an obituary or news article.
"When someone leaves us, they don't leave our memories or our social network," Max Kelly, head of security at the firm, wrote in the official Facebook blog.
"To reflect that reality, we created the idea of "memorialised" profiles as a place where people can save and share their memories of those who've passed."